YOUTH-web

A new play by Villanova professor James Ijames!

Youth

February 5- 17, 2019 


By James Ijames

Directed by Ed Sobel

 

A community is disrupted when a mysterious young man joins a church youth group in this extraordinary new play by “U.S. theatre’s next major voice” (Broad Street Review). Wyatt, a self-proclaimed non-believer, arrives and miracles start to occur.  Youth pastor Dave and his flock of young congregants must grapple with the meaning behind these remarkable events, even as they wrestle with their own issues of identity, sexuality and faith. Barrymore, Whiting and Terrence McNally Award-winning playwright James Ijames weaves together magical realism and rousing, gospel-inflected songs in this heartfelt exploration of what it means to live and love in a world where anything is possible.

PERFORMANCES

Tuesday, Feb. 5, 8pm (Preview)

Wednesday, Feb. 6, 8pm (Opening Night)

Thursday, Feb. 7, 8pm

Friday, Feb. 8, 8pm

Saturday, Feb. 9, 8pm

Sunday, Feb. 10, 2pm

 

Tuesday, Feb. 12, 8pm

Wednesday, Feb. 13, 8pm (Wine Down Wednesday)

Thursday, Feb. 14, 8pm (Speaker's Night)

Friday, Feb. 15, 8pm

Saturday, Feb. 16, 8pm

Sunday, Feb. 17, 2pm (Closing)

Production Staff

Director: Ed Sobel

Scenic Designer:

Costume Designer: Janus Stefanowicz

Lighting Designer: Jerold R. Forsyth

Sound Designer: John Stovicek

Magician Consult: Thomas Way

Dramaturg: Adrena Williams

Stage Manager:

Cast

TBA

Dramaturgical Resources

TBA